The brand name on the box does not tell you where a plate was made. The line does. Lenox stopped making dinnerware in the US in 2020. Corelle makes its Vitrelle plates and bowls in Corning, New York, but its stoneware and MilkGlass lines are made in China. Anchor Hocking’s glass comes from Ohio, but not every item it sells does. So the useful question is “which collection, and which pieces in it?”
If you want a full everyday set from one US factory, Fiesta (Newell, West Virginia) is the clearest answer on the evidence we found, with Corelle Vitrelle as the budget, lightweight alternative and East Fork, Emerson Creek, Heath and Bennington Potters as the smaller-pottery options. The tables below are organized by line, because that is where the answers differ.
In this guide
- Quick comparison by product line
- Care, warranty and what is imported
- How we researched this
- Fiesta: the one big US dinnerware factory we could confirm
- Corelle Vitrelle: US-made plates and bowls, imported everything else
- Anchor Hocking: American glass, with exceptions
- Small-pottery options
- What we dropped from the old page, and why
- Buying guide
- FAQs
- Sources
Quick comparison by product line
| Line | Made in | Material | What the maker says about lead and cadmium |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fiesta (Fiesta Tableware Company) | Newell, WV | Vitrified china | “Lead-free” since 1986; avoids the phrase “100% lead free” because of trace lead in raw materials. Some glazes contain encapsulated cadmium, averaging under 0.02 ppm release (company FAQ, 2019). |
| Corelle Vitrelle plates and bowls | Corning, NY (“plates and bowls along with some accessory pieces”) | Tempered laminated glass | Says it routinely tests for lead and cadmium at third-party labs; no figures published on the page we read. |
| Corelle MilkGlass and stoneware | China (per Corelle FAQ) | Glass / stoneware | Same general testing statement. |
| Anchor Hocking glass | Lancaster, OH for core tableware; some products made overseas | Clear glass | Says products are lead-, cadmium- and heavy-metal-free and Prop 65 compliant. |
| East Fork | Asheville, NC | Stoneware | No lead added; each new glaze sent to an accredited third-party lab (ASTM test) before production, aimed at FDA and Prop 65 limits. Cadmium not mentioned on its FAQ. |
| Emerson Creek Pottery | Bedford, VA | Ceramic (body type not stated) | Says no lead or cadmium in clays, glazes or paints and that it meets Prop 65. Its site links Bureau Veritas test results (we could not open the reports). |
| Heath Ceramics | Sausalito, CA | Ceramic / stoneware | “We do not use lead as a glaze ingredient.” Cadmium not addressed on the care page we read. |
| Bennington Potters | Bennington, VT (company address; product page does not state the factory) | Not specified | “Always lead-free”; no test method or results published. |
For what these claims rest on (leach limits, third-party testing versus a bare “lead-free” label), see our guide to lead-free mugs made in the USA. The same ranking applies to plates: a named lab and a published figure beat a slogan.
Care, warranty and what is imported
| Line | Dishwasher / microwave / oven | Chip or breakage warranty | Imported pieces in the same range? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fiesta | Dishwasher and microwave safe. Oven safe; the 2019 FAQ post says 350°F is typical for dinnerware and pieces are rated to 500°F, but the current FAQ gives no maximum. | 5-year chip replacement, normal use only, receipt required | Not published; the maker’s pages describe the dinnerware as made in Newell |
| Corelle Vitrelle | Dishwasher and microwave safe; preheated conventional oven up to 350°F | 3-year limited warranty against breakage, chipping and staining (normal household use) | Yes. MilkGlass and stoneware are China-made. The FAQ says “some accessory pieces” are US-made, which implies others are not. It does not address mugs or drinking glasses. |
| Anchor Hocking | Most pieces dishwasher safe; microwave not addressed on its FAQ; bakeware max 425°F | 5- or 10-year limited, by bakeware tier | Yes. A retailer FAQ says the company’s “Made in U.S.A.” logo marks the domestic items; we found no official SKU list |
| East Fork | Dishwasher and microwave safe; oven up to 400°F per its FAQ (its product page says 350°F), start in a cool oven, no broiler | None found; 30-day returns, transit damage reported within a week | Not stated. A collaboration collection (with Whichford Pottery) has no stated origin |
| Emerson Creek | Retailer listings and the company say microwave, oven and dishwasher safe; no broiler or stovetop; avoid sudden temperature change | Not found | Company says every product is made in the US |
| Heath | Dishwasher “with some consideration” (gentle detergent, no rinse aid); microwave 2 to 3 minutes or less; oven no higher than 350°F, start cold | Up to 1 year for manufacturing defects; chips and thermal shock not covered | Not addressed |
| Bennington | Company says all pottery is dishwasher, microwave and oven safe | Not found | Not addressed |
How we researched this
We have not handled any of these dishes. This page compares what manufacturers publish in their FAQs and care pages, plus news reports and Wikipedia for company history. Where a maker’s site blocked us or did not say, the table says so. We checked three things: the factory location the maker states, the basis for any lead or cadmium claim, and which pieces inside a collection are made somewhere else. “Check the backstamp or box” remains the final test for any specific piece, because makers change sourcing.
Fiesta: the one big US dinnerware factory we could confirm
Fiesta is made by The Fiesta Tableware Company in Newell, West Virginia, on the Ohio River. Its site calls the company family-owned and says it has made dinnerware there since 1871. The factory is a real manufacturer rather than a brand with a US address.
- Good: large range of colors and open stock; 5-year chip replacement warranty; dishwasher, microwave and oven safe.
- Watch out for: the cadmium wording. The company says some glazes contain cadmium that is encapsulated and releases under 0.02 ppm on average. That is far below the FDA guideline and the Prop 65 limit listed in our mug guide, but it is the maker’s own figure, and we could not open the “Statement Regarding Lead and Cadmium” it links to. Also, the maker’s 2019 FAQ and its current FAQ differ on oven guidance, so use a padded mitt and avoid thermal shock.
Check price at Fiesta Factory Direct, the maker’s own store.
Corelle Vitrelle: US-made plates and bowls, imported everything else
Corelle’s FAQ states that Vitrelle glass plates and bowls “along with some accessory pieces” are made in the USA (the plant is in Corning, New York). It also says MilkGlass is manufactured in China and stoneware is too. A set that mixes Vitrelle with other materials will therefore be mixed-origin. Check the set description, not just the brand.
- Good: light, thin and stackable; 3-year warranty against breakage, chipping and staining; routine third-party lead and cadmium testing, per the maker.
- Watch out for: mugs and drinking glasses. A reader reports they are made in China. Corelle’s FAQ does not address mugs or glasses, and one product review we saw says the mugs in a Vitrelle set were not made in Corning. Treat mugs and glasses as likely imported unless the listing says otherwise. Oven use is capped at 350°F.
Anchor Hocking: American glass, with exceptions
Anchor Hocking says it has refocused on glass tableware made in Lancaster, Ohio, and has invested in a new furnace there. After the Pyrex plant in Charleroi, Pennsylvania closed in April 2025, Pyrex dishes moved to Lancaster too. For glass plates, bowls and drinkware, look for the company’s “Made in U.S.A.” logo, because it also sells imported items. For glassware specifically, see our glassware made in the USA guide.
- Good: plain glass has no glaze to test; maker states lead-, cadmium- and heavy-metal-free and Prop 65 compliant.
- Watch out for: it is more a source of serving pieces and glass than complete matching dinner sets. Bakeware tops out at 425°F with no broiler or stovetop use.
Check price and the “Made in U.S.A.” range at Anchor Hocking.
Small-pottery options
East Fork (Asheville, NC)
Stoneware, with glazes mixed in-house and each new glaze sent to an accredited lab before production. That is the strongest published lead basis of the group, though cadmium isn’t mentioned on the FAQ we read, and it publishes no chip warranty. Check price at East Fork.
Emerson Creek Pottery (Bedford, VA)
Says every product is made in the US and meets Prop 65, and links Bureau Veritas test results. It is the one small maker here that explicitly claims both lead and cadmium safety and names a lab, but we could not open the reports ourselves. Check price at Emerson Creek.
Heath Ceramics (Sausalito, CA)
Made in its own factory. Expect the most careful care rules of the group (no rinse aid, cold-start oven) and a one-year defect-only warranty. Check price at Heath.
Bennington Potters (Bennington, VT)
Calls its pottery “always lead-free” and dishwasher, microwave and oven safe, but publishes no test method and its product page doesn’t name the factory. Check price at Bennington Potters.
What we dropped from the old page, and why
- Lenox Eternal, Marchesa Gilded Pearl, Kate Spade Library Lane and Sonora Knot place settings. The old page called some of these US-made. Lenox ceased production at its Kinston, North Carolina factory (its only US plant) on March 18, 2020, and announced on April 17, 2020 that the closure was permanent, with production expected to resume overseas. Lenox said it would keep designing heritage patterns in the US and make them in Europe and Asia. We found no reliable current origin for the Marchesa or Kate Spade lines, so we cannot call them US-made. Lenox was bought by Centre Lane Partners in October 2020 and acquired Oneida in June 2021.
- Mikasa. Its own site lists a New York headquarters and warehouses, not factories. Current retailer listings show China as the origin of the sets we saw.
- Pfaltzgraff. Its York, Pennsylvania pottery ended after Lifetime Brands bought the brand in 2005.
- Syracuse China. Libbey closed the Syracuse plant in 2009 and moved to imports under the name. Libbey still makes glassware in Toledo, Ohio, but we found no confirmation of current US-made ceramic dinnerware.
- Homer Laughlin commercial and Steelite. The Homer Laughlin name and foodservice business were sold to Steelite International in 2020. We could not confirm where Steelite now makes that china, so it is out.
- Oneida. Now part of Lenox’s parent. We did not find US-made dinnerware from it.
Buying guide
Check the line, not the brand
One brand can ship US-made plates and imported mugs in the same box. Search the exact collection name plus “made in” and read the backstamp when the set arrives.
“Made in USA” versus “designed in USA”
FTC guidance treats an unqualified “Made in USA” claim as meaning all or virtually all of the product is made here. Phrases like “designed in,” “assembled in” or “proudly American” claim much less.
Look at what the lead claim rests on
The more specific the claim, the better: named lab, tested glaze, published figure. A bare “lead-free” is weakest. Glassware has no glaze at all. Cadmium is the one that most often gets skipped, and it is typically in colored glazes, so ask about it for bright colors. Our mug guide has the limits.
Material decides how it behaves
Vitrified china (Fiesta) and tempered glass (Corelle) are thin, light and hard to chip. Handmade stoneware is heavier and may carry tighter oven and dishwasher rules. Warranty length follows the same split, from 5 years (Fiesta) to none published.
Mind the oven
Most makers cap oven use at 350 to 425°F, say no broilers, and warn against thermal shock. Do not assume a dinner plate is bakeware.
Chip warranties are narrow
Fiesta’s and Corelle’s cover normal use only and exclude abuse. Heath’s excludes chips from impact or thermal shock.
FAQs
Did Lenox stop making dinnerware in the US in March 2020?
Essentially yes. Lenox ceased production at its Kinston, NC plant on March 18, 2020, citing COVID-19, and on April 17, 2020 said the closure was permanent. So the date in the reader’s recollection is right for the stoppage; the permanent decision followed a month later. This is why Lenox, Kate Spade and Marchesa sets were dropped. Some listings that still say “made in USA” for those patterns may refer to stock produced before 2020.
Are Corelle glasses and accessories made in China?
Partly confirmed. Corelle’s FAQ says Vitrelle plates and bowls “along with some accessory pieces” are made in the USA, and that MilkGlass and stoneware are made in China. It does not say where mugs and drinking glasses are made, but a review we saw says the mugs in a Vitrelle set were not made in Corning. So treat glasses, mugs and accessories as likely imported until a listing says otherwise.
Is Fiestaware still a truly American company?
The dinnerware is still made in Newell, West Virginia, and the company describes itself as family-owned. One correction: it is no longer called Homer Laughlin. In 2020 it sold its foodservice business and the Homer Laughlin name to Steelite International, a British tableware maker, and renamed itself The Fiesta Tableware Company.
What dinnerware is made in the USA?
From what we could verify: Fiesta, Corelle Vitrelle plates and bowls, Anchor Hocking glass (check the logo), East Fork, Emerson Creek, Heath and Bennington.
Is American-made dinnerware lead-free?
Not automatically. Made in the US means the factory is here, not that it tests for lead. See the lead and cadmium column above and our mug guide.
Are Pyrex dishes still made in the US?
Pyrex production at the Charleroi, PA plant ended in April 2025 and moved to Anchor Hocking’s Lancaster, OH factory. Some Pyrex is also made in Europe, so check the item.
Sources
- Fiesta dinnerware FAQ
- Fiesta FAQ post (2019)
- Fiesta Tableware Company: USA Made
- Fiesta Tableware Company (Wikipedia)
- Corelle FAQ
- Corelle Brands (Wikipedia)
- Anchor Hocking FAQ
- Libbey: glassware made in the USA
- East Fork FAQ
- Emerson Creek FAQ (company claims; page blocked our fetch, so details were read from search results)
- Heath Ceramics dinnerware care and service
- Bennington Potters product page
- Lenox (Wikipedia)
- Retail Insight Network: Lenox Kinston closure
- About Mikasa
- FTC: Complying with the Made in USA Standard
Questions?