Most 30-inch built-in induction cooktops sold in the US share one thing: they drop into a countertop opening about 28 1/2 inches wide and 19 5/8 inches deep, run on a 240-volt circuit and ship without a power cord. The differences that cause problems are smaller and tend to show up after you have ordered: a cutout that is 1 inch deeper than your old radiant unit’s, a 50-amp circuit requirement where you have 40, or a drawer under the cooktop that leaves too little air space.
This page compares six current 30-inch models on the installation facts that decide whether one will fit your kitchen: cutout and unit dimensions, clearance below the counter, breaker size, connected load, cord or hardwire, element sizes and wattage, bridge zones, controls, trim and warranty. If you are replacing a gas or radiant cooktop, start with the swap checklist. If you want a downdraft model, our induction cooktops with downdraft page covers those cutouts separately.
Short version: the Frigidaire Gallery GCCI3067AB is the most forgiving fit (it lists a minimum and a maximum cutout, so it covers an older, looser opening) and the lowest-amp requirement (30 A). The LG CBIS3018BE and Samsung NZ30K7880 have the most flexible cooking zones but need a 40 A circuit. The Fisher & Paykel CI304DTB4 publishes the most complete clearance table.
In this guide
Quick comparison
| Model | Best for | Cutout (W x D) | Circuit | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Frigidaire Gallery GCCI3067AB | Replacing an older cooktop with a larger opening | 28 1/2 to 29 7/8 x 19 5/8 to 20 1/2 in | 30 A | 1 year |
| Bosch 500 Series NIT5060UC | Large 11 in. zone, frameless look | 28 7/8 x 20 in | 30 A | See Bosch |
| GE Profile PHP9030 | Retrofits (filler trim kit, fit guarantee) | 28 1/2 to 28 5/8 x 19 5/8 to 19 3/4 in | 40 A | 1 year |
| Samsung NZ30K7880 | Big bridged zone, magnetic knob | 28 1/2 x 19 9/16 in | 40 A | 1 year, 5 on glass |
| LG Studio CBIS3018BE | Highest power, flexible zones | 28 1/2 to 28 5/8 x 19 5/8 to 19 11/16 in | 36.7 A minimum | 2 years |
| Fisher & Paykel CI304DTB4 | Low-profile install, clear clearance rules | 28 3/4 x 19 5/16 in | 32 A max draw | 2 years (retailer) |
How we researched this
We have not installed or cooked on any of these. Everything below comes from manufacturer spec sheets and installation diagrams (Bosch, GE, Frigidaire, Samsung, LG, Fisher & Paykel) and from retailer listings where a maker’s page would not load or did not list the number. Retailer-sourced figures are labelled “per retailer listing”. Where a spec was not published in the documents we read, the tables say so. Specs change without notice, so treat the installation guide that ships with your exact model as final before you cut stone or quartz.
Cutout, unit size and space below the counter
This is the table most buyers need and few pages publish. “Unit” is the glass top; “below” is the clearance rule the maker prints for the space under the cooktop.
| Model | Cutout W x D (height) | Unit W x D x H | Space below and other limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Frigidaire GCCI3067AB | Min 28 1/2 x 19 5/8, max 29 7/8 x 20 1/2 (cutout height 3 5/8) | 30 5/8 x 21 3/8 x 2 7/8 | Not on the spec sheet; see installation guide |
| Bosch NIT5060UC | 28 7/8 x 20 (3 3/4 on Bosch page, 4 1/8 on spec sheet) | 31 x 21 1/4 (height listed about 4) | 2 1/4 in. from counter front, 2 in. from rear wall; installed depth includes a 1 in. ventilation gap; oven-below diagram in the guide |
| GE Profile PHP9030 | 28 1/2 to 28 5/8 x 19 5/8 to 19 3/4 | 29 7/8 x 21 x 4 5/8 at center baffle, 3 1/4 at rear | 3 in. free area below to any combustible material such as shelving; not required over an approved GE wall oven; 31 1/4 in. from counter top to wall-oven support platform |
| Samsung NZ30K7880 | 28 1/2 x 19 9/16 (up to 19 5/8) x 4 high | 30 x 21 1/4 x 4 | Can be installed over a single oven; the junction box location and oven clearance are in the diagram |
| LG CBIS3018BE | 28 1/2 to 28 5/8 x 19 5/8 to 19 11/16 (5 3/4 high) | 30 11/16 x 21 1/16 x 4 1/8 | Keep 5 3/4 in. of empty space under the cutout; keep 3 5/16 in. between the cooktop and any drawer or oven below |
| Fisher & Paykel CI304DTB4 | 28 3/4 x 19 5/16 (cutout offset 3/8 in. from front) | 29 7/8 x 20 7/8 x 3 7/8 | 3 3/4 in. from counter top to anything below; any oven below must have a cooling fan; 3/16 in. minimum ventilation gap behind cabinet fronts |
What this means in practice:
- Width is not the issue, depth is. Cutout width clusters between 28 1/2 and 28 7/8 inches for almost every model. Depth runs from 19 5/16 to 20 inches, and a fraction of an inch matters when you are replacing a unit in a finished stone top.
- Induction needs air under it. The electronics and fan sit in a chassis below the glass. LG asks for 5 3/4 inches of empty height; F&P asks for 3 3/4 inches. A shallow drawer or a shelf directly beneath is often where installs fail. Most makers allow a wall oven below, with conditions (an F&P oven must have its own cooling fan; GE lists specific wall-oven models).
- Unit height differs by about 2 inches. Frigidaire’s is 2 7/8, F&P’s 3 7/8, LG’s 4 1/8 and GE’s 4 5/8 at the center. That affects how much room you have above a drawer or oven.
- Rear and side clearances. GE wants 1 3/4 in. to the rear wall and 2 to 2 1/2 in. to side walls; F&P lists 1 3/16 in. to the side and 1 9/16 in. to the rear for combustible surfaces. Check these against a tight corner or a backsplash.
Electrical: amps, connected load and cord
| Model | Circuit | Connected load | Cord or hardwire |
|---|---|---|---|
| Frigidaire GCCI3067AB | 240 V, 30 A minimum | kW not listed on the sheet | Not stated on the sheet |
| Bosch NIT5060UC | 208-240 V, 30 A breaker | 7,200 W | No plug; the sheet lists a 37 in. supply cable |
| GE Profile PHP9030 | 240 V or 208 V, 40 A | 7.4 kW at 240 V, 6.4 kW at 208 V | Sheet says a 48 in. flexible armored cable is furnished; a retailer says no cord is included. Confirm |
| Samsung NZ30K7880 | 240 V / 60 Hz, 40 A | 8.6 kW | Junction box connection per diagram |
| LG CBIS3018BE | 240/208 V, 3-wire or 4-wire; 36.7 A minimum at 240 V, 34.6 A at 208 V | 8.8 kW at 240 V | Power cord/cable not included; junction box |
| Fisher & Paykel CI304DTB | 240 V: 32 A max draw; 208 V: 28 A | 7,400 W max at 240 V, 6,500 W at 208 V | Hardwired through a conduit junction, by a qualified person |
Reading the numbers. The breaker is sized to the connected load, not to the sum of the element ratings.
Wire size. None of the spec sheets we read give a wire gauge. Conductor type, run length and local code all affect it, so have an electrician confirm the circuit against the installation guide. The sheets also say 208 V buildings (some condos and apartments) get a lower rating than 240 V houses.
No cord. Most of these ship without a plug. Plan on a junction box or an appliance cord kit bought separately, and have it installed by a licensed electrician where your area requires it.
Elements, bridge zones and minimum pan size
Zone diameters tell you what pans each ring will heat. Our portable induction cooktops page explains the coil-versus-pan size idea in detail.
| Model | Elements (size, normal / boost watts) | Bridge or flex zone |
|---|---|---|
| Frigidaire GCCI3067AB | 8 in. 2,300 / 3,600 (x2); 7 in. 1,800 / 2,600 (x2) | Yes, left side |
| Bosch NIT5060UC | Front 6 in. 1,400 / 2,200 (x2); back-left 9 in. 2,200 / 3,700; back-right 11 in. 2,600 / 3,700 | Not listed on the sheet |
| GE Profile PHP9030 | 11 in. 3,700; 7 in. 2,500 (x2); 6 in. 1,800 (per retailer listing) | Sheet lists “synchronized elements”; no bridge zone size |
| Samsung NZ30K7880 | Two flex elements 1,800 / 2,600; 6 in. 1,400 / 1,800; 7/11 in. dual 3,600 / 4,800 | Flex zone 7 11/16 x 15 3/4 in. |
| LG CBIS3018BE | Two flexible elements 8 1/2 x 7 1/4 in. 1,850 / 3,700; dual 11 1/8 / 7 1/16 in. 3,700 / 1,850 (boost 5,000 / 3,700); 6 1/2 in. 1,400 / 1,800 | “Flexible” elements; the sheet does not spell out pairing |
| Fisher & Paykel CI304DTB4 | Four zones: 2,300, 1,850, 1,850, 1,400 W (per retailer listing); diameters not in the datasheet we read | Not in the datasheet |
Minimum pan size: none of the sheets publish a minimum pan diameter. Induction cooktops detect the pan and switch the element off if it is too small or not magnetic. As a rule of thumb, a pan base at least as wide as the smallest inner ring works best; check each manual. A bridge zone is only useful if your cookware is long: a griddle, roaster or fish pan. Four round pans never need one.
Controls, trim and warranty
| Model | Controls | Frame or trim | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Frigidaire GCCI3067AB | Front touch (glide), red display | Not listed | 1 year parts and labor |
| Bosch NIT5060UC | Touch, 17 power levels | Frameless | See Bosch’s limited warranty statement; not on the sheet |
| GE Profile PHP9030 | Front touch, Wi-Fi | Stainless frame on the STSS model; filler trim kit for oversize openings | 1 year parts, 1 year labor (retailer) |
| Samsung NZ30K7880 | Touch plus removable magnetic knob; Wi-Fi | Beveled glass | 1 year parts and labor; 5 years parts on glass |
| LG CBIS3018BE | 7 in. LCD touch controls; Wi-Fi | Frameless | 2 years parts and labor |
| Fisher & Paykel CI304DTB4 | Touch slider (per retailer listing) | “Minimal style” per datasheet | 2 years (retailer) |
The six models
Frigidaire Gallery GCCI3067AB
Who it suits: someone replacing a cooktop whose opening is a little bigger than modern standards, or anyone on a 30 A circuit. $$
- Sheet lists minimum and maximum cutout, 28 1/2 x 19 5/8 up to 29 7/8 x 20 1/2 inches.
- Four zones with a left-side bridge; 30 A at 240 V.
- Frigidaire Fit Promise is listed on the sheet; check terms on the Frigidaire site.
Watch out for: the sheet does not state clearance below, kW, or cord; the shortest warranty here (1 year).
Check price at Greentoe (retailer listing) or the Frigidaire site.
Bosch 500 Series NIT5060UC
Who it suits: cooks who want one big 11 in. zone and a frameless look. $$$
- Cutout 28 7/8 x 20 inches; sheet gives 4 1/8 in. cutout height, Bosch’s page says 3 3/4, so confirm.
- 30 A, 208-240 V, 7,200 W, no plug.
- Six-inch front zones, 9 in. and 11 in. back zones.
Watch out for: Bosch’s US product page showed it as out of stock when we checked, without a discontinuation notice. The 800 Series NIT8069UC page said the product is no longer available. Confirm the 500 Series is shipping before planning around it.
Check price at Bosch.
GE Profile PHP9030
Who it suits: a retrofit where the opening may be slightly large. $$$
- Filler trim kit JXTR32B (black) covers openings up to 29 13/16 x 20 7/16 inches.
- GE guarantees a fit or pays up to $100 toward modifications.
- Approved over select GE 27 and 30 in. wall ovens and warming drawers.
Watch out for: 40 A; our sources disagree on whether a cord is included; the 11 in. zone sits at front right only; some color variants are listed as discontinued by retailers.
Check price at Abt (retailer listing).
Samsung NZ30K7880
Who it suits: cooks who want a big bridged area and tactile control. $$$
- Flex zone 7 11/16 x 15 3/4 in. across two 1,800 W (2,600 W boost) elements.
- Removable magnetic knob alongside touch controls.
- 8.6 kW, 40 A, junction box.
Watch out for: the sheet and retailer disagree on element count (five versus four); the model number has US and UG color versions; we read the K7880 and a sibling M9880 sheet, so confirm which suffix you order.
Check price at Town Appliance (retailer listing).
LG Studio CBIS3018BE
Who it suits: people who want the most heat and are happy to run a 40 A circuit. $$$
- Rated 8.8 kW; one dual zone boosts to 5,000 W.
- Most explicit clearances of the group: 5 3/4 in. empty below, 3 5/16 in. to any drawer or oven.
- 2-year warranty; frameless.
Watch out for: cord not included; 36.7 A minimum circuit means 40 A in practice; we found LG’s own product page only as a spec-sheet PDF.
Check price at LG.
Fisher & Paykel CI304DTB4
Who it suits: a design-led kitchen where you want the full clearance table before you commit. $$$$
- Cutout 28 3/4 x 19 5/16 inches; the cutout is offset 3/8 in. from the front.
- Draws up to 32 A (7,400 W) at 240 V, so a 40 A circuit is the likely supply; confirm in the guide.
- Installation guide covers the 30 in. sibling and lists the electrical connection.
Watch out for: hardwired; an oven below must have a cooling fan; we could not confirm zone diameters or current availability on Fisher & Paykel’s US site, only retailer listings.
Check price at Fisher & Paykel.
Swapping from gas or radiant: checklist
- Measure your existing opening, width and depth, and the finished depth of the counter (GE notes a 25 in. minimum total depth). Compare against the cutout table above.
- Check the circuit. A gas cooktop usually has no 240 V line. A radiant cooktop already has one, often 40 or 50 A, which is generally enough, but check the new unit’s rating and the wire size in the wall.
- Check the space below. Radiant units sit in a shallow frame; induction needs an air gap and a cooling fan path. Shelves, drawers and ovens are the usual conflicts.
- Cap the gas line through a licensed plumber and remove the old unit’s flue or vent if present.
- Look for fit help. GE lists a $100 modification guarantee and a filler trim kit; Frigidaire lists a Fit Promise.
- Plan the wire and junction box with the electrician before the new unit arrives.
Induction-specific points
- Cookware must be magnetic. If a magnet sticks firmly to the pan base, it works. Our induction pan sets guide covers what to replace.
- Pacemakers. Fisher & Paykel’s installer guide specifically tells installers to point out the safety warnings for people with pacemakers or other electrical implants. Ask your doctor and read the manual before use.
- Fan noise. None of the sheets we read publish a noise figure. The cooling fan sits in the chassis below the glass; keep the area under it clear.
- Prefer fewer zones? See our 2-burner induction cooktops.
FAQs
What size cutout does a 30 inch induction cooktop need?
Between about 28 1/2 and 29 3/4 inches wide and 19 5/16 to 20 inches deep, depending on the model. Use the cutout table above, then confirm with the installation guide.
What breaker does a 30 inch induction cooktop need?
The models here ask for 30 A (Frigidaire, Bosch), 32 A max draw (Fisher & Paykel), 36.7 A minimum (LG) or 40 A (GE, Samsung). Local code and your electrician have the final say.
Can I put a drawer or oven under an induction cooktop?
Sometimes. LG asks for 3 5/16 inches between cooktop and a drawer or oven plus 5 3/4 inches of empty height. Fisher & Paykel allows an oven below if it has a cooling fan. GE allows approved wall ovens and otherwise wants 3 inches free of combustible material.
Can I replace a gas cooktop with induction?
Yes, but you need a 240 V circuit, a capped gas line and a cutout that fits. See the swap checklist above.
Do 30 inch induction cooktops come with a power cord?
Mostly no. LG says a cord is not included. GE’s sheet says a cable is furnished while a retailer says otherwise. Bosch’s sheet lists a 37 in. cable with no plug.
Is a 30 or 36 inch induction cooktop better?
A 36 inch model adds a fifth zone but needs a bigger opening and, for example, a 45 A draw on F&P’s CI365DTB. Thirty inches suits most kitchens.
Do induction cooktops work with a pacemaker?
Ask your cardiologist. Makers include warnings for people with pacemakers or implants in their guides.
Sources
- Bosch NIT5060UC specification sheet (hosted by P.C. Richard)
- Bosch NIT5060UC product page
- GE Profile PHP9030 quick specs
- Frigidaire GCCI3067AB specification sheet
- Samsung NZ30K7880US specification sheet
- Samsung NZ30M9880 sheet (sibling model)
- LG CBIS3018BE builder spec sheet
- Fisher & Paykel CI304DTB4 data sheet
- Fisher & Paykel installation guide (CI122/244/304/365DTB)
- Abt listing, GE PHP9030STSS
- Town Appliance listing, Samsung NZ30K7880US
- Greentoe listing, Frigidaire GCCI3067AB
Questions?