The Duxtop 8300ST is no longer a current model. Secura, the company behind the Duxtop brand, no longer lists it among its induction cooktops, and its Amazon listing shows “Currently unavailable” with no restock date. Secura now lists the 8310ST as the sensor-touch model in the same line, but that one has also been out of stock on Amazon when we checked.
If you already own an 8300ST, this page covers what the manual says: full specs, what the E0 to E3 error codes mean and how to clear them, and which pans will work. If you’re shopping, the comparison further down shows which Duxtop single burners are still sold and how they differ. For most people the Duxtop 9600LS is the closest current replacement. The 8100MC costs less and has almost the same specs, but it has a button panel instead of a sensor-touch panel.
In this guide
How we researched this
We haven’t used the 8300ST ourselves. This page is based on the official Duxtop 8300ST user manual hosted by Secura, the manuals and product pages for the current Duxtop models, and the current Amazon listings. We read those listings to check availability and to see what patterns show up in owner feedback. Where a manual and a current listing disagree, we say so. Where a figure isn’t published (coil diameter is the main one), we say that too. What mattered most for this page: power and temperature steps, minimum pan size, safety shut-offs, and what each error code actually tells you.
Duxtop 8300ST specifications
All figures below are from Section 8 and Sections 3 to 4 of the official 8300ST user manual (2010 edition).
| Spec | Duxtop 8300ST |
|---|---|
| Power source | 120V / 60Hz, 15-amp circuit (manual asks for a dedicated outlet) |
| Output | 200–1800 watts |
| Power levels | 10 (default level 5 = 1200W) |
| Temperature range | 140°F–464°F (60°C–240°C), 10 settings (default 320°F) |
| Timer | Up to 170 minutes, 1-minute steps; unit turns off when time runs out |
| Controls | Sensor-touch keys on the glass: Function, Lock, +, −, On/Off; LED readout |
| Child lock | Hold Lock for 3 seconds (only On/Off works while locked) |
| Dimensions | 11.6 x 14 x 2.75 in |
| Weight | 5 lb 12 oz |
| Cord length | 6 ft |
| Minimum pan base | 4 in flat, magnetic base (4–6 in bases may trigger E0 if magnetic content is low) |
| Max load on glass | 25 lb |
| Ventilation clearance | At least 4 in on all sides |
| Induction coil diameter | Not published by the manufacturer |
| Warranty (per manual) | 1 year, original purchaser, not valid for commercial use |
| Compliance | FCC Part 18 (consumer ISM equipment); ETL approved per the Amazon listing |
Power and temperature steps
Power mode and temperature mode work independently. The manual recommends power mode for boiling water and temperature mode for frying and browning. Here are the steps as printed:
| Setting | Power mode (watts) | Temperature mode (°F) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | 200 | 140 |
| 2 | 500 | 176 |
| 3 | 800 | 212 |
| 4 | 1000 | 248 |
| 5 | 1200 | 284 |
| 6 | 1300 | 320 |
| 7 | 1400 | 356 |
| 8 | 1500 | 392 |
| 9 | 1600 | 428 |
| 10 | 1800 | 464 |
Two things stand out. Power jumps 300W at a time at the bottom of the range, and the lowest setting is still 200W. So gentle simmering takes some trial and error, and owners do mention that low-temperature control is limited. Temperature mode goes up in 36°F steps. It’s fine for frying, but it can’t hold something like 300°F exactly.
Duxtop 8300ST error codes (E0, E1, E2, E3)
The code appears in the LED display. This is the manual’s error guide, reworded slightly:
| Code | What it means | What the manual says to do |
|---|---|---|
| E0 | Proper cookware not detected | Put suitable cookware back on the glass within 30 seconds, or unplug, wait one minute, plug back in and restart with a suitable, centered pan. |
| E1 | Excessive internal temperature, cooling fan fault, or poor ventilation | Unplug. Make sure the fan has at least 4 in of clearance. Wait 10 minutes for the unit and pan to cool, plug back in, turn on and listen for the fan. |
| E2 | Cooking surface went above 450°F (232°C); unit shut down | Usually happens in power mode. If frying, switch to temperature mode. If it happened while boiling water, unplug, wait 10 minutes, reconnect, confirm the fan runs and keep 4 in of clearance. |
| E3 | Supply voltage too high or too low (shuts down after one minute) | Unplug and check the outlet is 110/120V AC with a voltage tester. If it isn’t, use a different outlet. |
If none of those fixes work, the manual says to contact customer service rather than open the unit. Secura’s current contact is CustomerCare@thesecura.com or 888-792-2360.
Other problems the manual covers
- No red power light and no fan after plugging in: the plug is loose, or the circuit breaker has tripped.
- Power light on, but no fan and no heat: the pan isn’t magnetic, the pan isn’t centered on the alignment ring, or the glass is cracked (stop using it if so).
- Stops heating mid-cook and shuts down: the overheat sensor tripped (often from heating an empty pan), the air inlet or outlet is blocked, the unit was unplugged, or a breaker tripped.
- Shuts off and beeps after about a minute: no pan, or the wrong kind of pan, is on the glass. This is the auto-pan detection doing its job.
- Fan keeps running after you switch off: normal. It runs until the unit has cooled.
Which cookware works on the 8300ST
The manual’s rule of thumb: if a magnet sticks firmly to the bottom of the pan, it will work. The base must:
- be made of a ferrous (magnetic) material;
- be flat, with a base at least 4 in across;
- sit on the glass, or no more than 1 in above it.
Works: cast iron, iron, enameled iron or steel, and magnetic stainless steel.
Won’t work: glass, ceramic, copper, aluminum, and non-magnetic stainless (18/10, 18/8) unless the base has a magnetic layer.
A small pan can pass the magnet test and still show E0. The manual says bases in the 4–6 in range may not register if their magnetic content is low, and calls this a safety mechanism. For pans that aren’t magnetic at all, a converter disc is the workaround, and the manual does allow an induction interface disk on the glass. A disc is slower and less efficient than a proper induction pan, though. See our guide to induction converter discs before buying one.
The manual’s safety cautions worth knowing
- Use a dedicated 120V/15A outlet and don’t share it with another appliance.
- Don’t set the cooktop on a metal surface, which can get hot, or on anything flammable.
- Keep 4 in of space around the whole unit and never block the fan inlet or the rear outlet.
- Don’t heat empty pans or unopened cans.
- Keep credit cards, radios and other magnet-sensitive items away while it’s running.
- No more than 25 lb on the glass.
- People with pacemakers should check with their physician first, because the unit emits an electromagnetic field.
- Clean with a damp cloth and mild detergent only, once it has cooled and is unplugged. No abrasives, solvents or dishwasher.
What owners say about the 8300ST
The Amazon listing for the 8300ST is still live even though the cooktop is out of stock. Its review summary shows these patterns:
- Praised: fast heating (quick boils come up again and again), easy wipe-clean glass, simple setup.
- Mixed: temperature control. Some owners find it responsive. Others find the settings confusing, say the low end is limited, or doubt the accuracy of the temperature readout.
- Mixed: noise. Some find it quiet. Others complain about loud, repeated beeping.
- A usability quirk: because the keys are touch-sensitive and flush with the glass, sliding a hand or pan across them can change settings without you noticing.
Separately, Duxtop’s own listing copy says that clad (multi-layer) cookware can make a high-pitched sound on induction. That comes from the pan, not a fault in the cooktop.
Is the 8300ST discontinued? What replaced it
As far as we can tell, yes. Secura’s induction cooktop catalog no longer includes the 8300ST, though the 8300ST manual is still on its site. The Amazon listing (ASIN B0045QFER4) says “Currently unavailable. We don’t know when or if this item will be back in stock.” Any 8300ST you find for sale now is likely used or old stock.
The 8310ST is the model Secura now lists in the same sensor-touch style. The details don’t line up across sources, though. Secura’s product page lists 15 power levels (200–1800W) and 15 temperature settings (140–460°F). The Amazon listing for the black 8310 lists 20 of each (100–1800W, 100–460°F). Both list a 170-minute timer, child lock and auto-pan detection. The black 8310 was also out of stock on Amazon when we checked, so treat it as hit-or-miss.
Current Duxtop portable induction cooktops compared
These are the Duxtop models Secura still lists, with specs from their manuals, Secura product pages or current Amazon listings. Duxtop has revised several models over the years, and the level counts in older manuals don’t always match today’s listings. Check the manual that ships with your unit.
| Model | Power levels | Temp range | Timer | Controls | Housing / notes | Price band |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8300ST (discontinued) | 10 (200–1800W) | 140–464°F, 10 steps | 170 min | Sensor touch, LED | Glass top with flush touch keys; 4 in min pan | n/a |
| 8310ST | 15 or 20 (sources differ) | 140–460°F or 100–460°F | 170 min | Sensor touch | Stock patchy | not checked |
| 8100MC / 8120MC | 10 (Secura page) or 15 (Amazon listing), 200–1800W | 140–460°F | 170 min | Digital button panel | Budget model; 6 ft cord | $ |
| 9100MC / 9120MC | 15 (manual) or 20 (Amazon listing) | 140–460°F (manual) or 100–460°F (listing) | 170 min | Digital panel, larger display | 2-hour auto-off if untouched; 5 ft cord | $ |
| 9600LS / 9610LS | 20 (100–1800W) | 100–460°F, 20 steps | 10 hours | LCD sensor touch | Fast-boil and keep-warm buttons | $$ |
| 8600BI (BT-200T1) | 15 (200–1800W) | 140–460°F, 15 steps | 170 min | Sensor touch, LED | Countertop or built-in use | $$ |
| P961LS (BT-C35-D) | 20 (100–1800W) | 100–460°F, 20 steps | not stated on product page | LCD sensor touch, angled panel | Stainless steel housing, 7-blade fan; aimed at pro use | $$ |
| E200A | 20 (100–1800W) | 100–460°F, 20 steps | 170 min | Sensor touch, LED | Stainless housing, full glass top; out of stock on Amazon when checked | not checked |
| 9620LS (BT-350DZ), 2 burners | 20 per mode | not stated on product page | – | LCD touch, two independent zones | 1800W total shared across both zones | $$$ |
Every model runs on a standard 120V/15A outlet and tops out at 1800W. The current models ask for a pan base of at least 5 in. The newer manuals (9100MC, 9600LS/9610LS, E200A) state a two-year warranty, compared with one year in the 8300ST manual. None of the manuals or product pages publish coil diameter.
Which one to pick
- Closest like-for-like replacement for an 8300ST: the 9600LS, or the 9610LS in black. It has the sensor-touch feel, finer 100W steps, a lower 100°F minimum and a 10-hour timer.
- Cheapest reliable basic burner: the 8100MC. The specs match the 8300ST almost exactly (200–1800W, 140–460°F, 170-minute timer). You press real buttons instead of touch keys, which avoids the accidental-touch problem.
- If you want sensor touch at 15 steps, or might build it in later: the 8600BI.
- If you need two pans going at once: the 9620LS. Its two zones share one 1800W supply, so both burners can’t run flat out together. Our 2-burner induction cooktop guide covers other options.
If you’re open to other brands, see our full portable induction cooktop comparison.
Duxtop 9600LS
The most direct modern stand-in for the 8300ST: sensor-touch LCD panel, 20 power levels (100–1800W), 20 temperature settings (100–460°F), a 10-hour timer, boil and keep-warm buttons, 5 in minimum pan base, and a two-year warranty per the manual.
Check price on AmazonDuxtop 8100MC
The long-running budget model. The specs are close to the 8300ST’s, but it has a button panel. The Amazon listing currently describes 15 power levels (200–1800W) and 15 temperature settings (140–460°F), with a 170-minute timer and 6 ft cord.
Check price on AmazonDuxtop 8600BI
Sensor-touch LED panel, 15 power levels (200–1800W), 15 temperature settings (140–460°F), a 170-minute timer, and a design that can sit on the counter or be built in.
Check price on AmazonFAQs
Is the Duxtop 8300ST discontinued?
It appears so. Secura no longer lists it among its induction cooktops, and Amazon shows it as currently unavailable with no restock date. The 8310ST is the listed sensor-touch model in the same line. The 9600LS is the easiest current equivalent to find in stock.
What does E0 mean on a Duxtop 8300ST?
No suitable cookware was detected. The pan may be missing, off-center, not magnetic, or too small. A 4–6 in base with low magnetic content can also trigger it. Put a suitable pan back within 30 seconds, or unplug for a minute and restart.
What does E1 or E2 mean?
E1 means the unit itself is too hot. Usually the fan is blocked or has failed. E2 means the cooking surface went above 450°F, which usually happens when frying in power mode. For both, unplug and let everything cool for 10 minutes. Keep 4 in of clearance around the unit. For E2, cook in temperature mode instead.
Why does my Duxtop shut off after a minute?
Auto-pan detection. If there’s no pan, or the pan isn’t compatible, the unit beeps and switches off after about 60 seconds.
What’s the difference between the Duxtop 8300ST and 8100MC?
Going by the two manuals, the power output is identical (10 levels, 200–1800W). Both have a 170-minute timer, a 6 ft cord and weigh 5 lb 12 oz. The 8300ST has sensor-touch keys on a full glass top and a child lock, and its temperature scale runs to 464°F. The 8100MC uses push buttons and tops out at 460°F. The 8100MC is still sold. The 8300ST isn’t.
How big is the 8300ST’s induction coil?
Duxtop doesn’t publish coil diameter for the 8300ST or its current models. The manual does give a minimum pan base of 4 in. The current models specify 5 in.
Can I use the 8300ST on a 15-amp circuit, or in an RV?
It’s designed for a standard 120V, 15-amp outlet, and the manual asks for a dedicated one because the cooktop can draw about 15 amps at full power. In an RV, that means a proper 120V supply. If the supply voltage sags out of range, the manual says the unit will show E3 and shut down. Our RV induction cooktop guide goes into the power side.
Will my stainless steel pans work?
Only if a magnet sticks firmly to the base. Non-magnetic 18/10 and 18/8 stainless won’t work unless the pan has a magnetic base layer.
Bottom line
The 8300ST was a capable basic 1800W burner, and if yours still works, the error-code table above should cover most hiccups. For a new purchase, it’s effectively gone. The 9600LS is the closest current Duxtop in feel and flexibility. The 8100MC is the budget pick with near-identical output.
Sources
- Duxtop 8300ST Induction Cooktop User Manual (Secura, PDF)
- Duxtop 8100MC User Manual (Secura, PDF)
- Duxtop 9100MC / 9120MC User Manual (Secura, PDF)
- Duxtop 9600LS / 9610LS User Manual (Secura, PDF)
- Duxtop E200A User Manual (Secura, PDF)
- Secura: Duxtop induction cooktops catalog
- Secura: Duxtop 8310ST product page
- Secura: Duxtop 8600BI product page
- Secura: Duxtop P961LS product page
- Secura: Duxtop 9620LS double induction cooktop product page
- Duxtop BT-C35-D / P961LS user manual (Manuals+)
- Amazon listing: Duxtop 8300ST (currently unavailable)
Questions?