Non Toxic & Teflon Free Rice Cookers: Pot Materials Compared

Cook Logic is reader-supported. If you buy through a link on this page we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you.

If you want a Teflon free rice cooker where the rice touches nothing but bare metal, the shortlist is short. Cuckoo’s CRP-LHTAR0609F (6 cup) and CRP-OHTR1009FWS (10 cup) ship with an uncoated 3-ply stainless inner pot. Instant Pot’s stainless-pot multi-cookers such as the Duo 6QT are the budget route, and the Miracle Exclusives ME81 is an old-school all-stainless cooker that is hard to find in stock. If you’d rather keep a nonstick surface but avoid PTFE, Zojirushi’s NS-TPC and four Hamilton Beach models say their coating is PFAS-free.

The thing to know is that “non toxic rice cooker” and “rice cooker without non stick coating” are not the same claim. A ceramic nonstick pot is still a coating. It is a sol-gel layer sprayed onto an aluminum or steel pot. It may be PFAS-free, and some makers say so, but it can wear like any other coating. Only a bare stainless, clay or cast-iron pot has no coating at all.

So this page is built around one table: for every current US rice cooker we could verify with an uncoated or non-PTFE pot, what the pot is made of, whether it has any coating, what the maker says about PFAS, and what else touches the food. Where a maker doesn’t publish a fact, the table says “Not published.” We also answer the question two readers asked: can you get tahdig, the crispy Persian rice crust, without a Teflon pot? Short answer below.

In this guide
  1. Quick comparison
  2. How we researched this
  3. Inner-pot material table: what the pot is, and what else touches your rice
  4. Non toxic rice cooker picks, one by one
  5. What we left out, and why
  6. Buying guide: Teflon free rice cooker, in four checks
  7. FAQs
  8. Bottom line
  9. Sources

Quick comparison

Cooker Inner pot Any coating? Heating Capacity (rice cups)
Cuckoo CRP-LHTAR0609F 3-ply stainless No Induction, twin pressure 6
Cuckoo CRP-OHTR1009FWS 3-ply stainless No Induction, twin pressure 10
Instant Pot Duo 6QT 18/8 stainless, tri-ply bottom No Element, pressure cooker Not published (6 qt pot)
Miracle Exclusives ME81 304 stainless (per retailers) No Element Retailers say 8
Zojirushi NS-TPC10 / 18 Nonstick, PFAS-free per maker Yes Element, micom 5.5 / 10
Hamilton Beach 37518MN and siblings Ceramic nonstick, PFAS-free per maker Yes Element See table
Nagatani-en Kamado-san (via Toiro) Iga clay Not stated Gas stovetop only 1, 2, 3 or 5

How we researched this

We haven’t handled any of these cookers. Everything here comes from maker product pages, the maker’s own chemical disclosure page where one exists, and a few retailer listings where the maker’s page wouldn’t load for us. Several maker sites blocked our fetches, including Aroma, Tatung and most Persian brands. We did not fill those gaps with guesses, and we flag which rows lean on retailer copy. Where no source said it, we wrote “Not published.” Availability changes, so check current listings before buying.

Inner-pot material table: what the pot is, and what else touches your rice

Model Pot material and coating PFAS position the maker states Lid, seal and vent parts Made in
Cuckoo CRP-LHTAR0609F Built-in 3-ply stainless; a coated Xwall pot is sold separately as an option Uncoated pot. Cuckoo’s separate stainless replacement pot page is titled PFAS-free (304 inside, aluminum 1050 core, 439 outside) Detachable lid with one rubber seal (“Double Motion Packing”). Rubber compound not published South Korea
Cuckoo CRP-OHTR1009FWS Built-in 3-ply stainless; non-stick pot sold separately No PFAS statement on the product page Seal and inner lid materials not published South Korea
Instant Pot Duo 6QT, RIO 6QT Stainless (18/8) with tri-ply bottom. Instant Pot says its stainless pots have “no non-stick or chemical coatings” Company-wide disclosure page lists PTFE, PFA and FEP for its cookware range, without saying which products. Stainless pots are not the coated ones Removable lid, sealing ring and steam release; materials not itemized on the product page Not published on the page
Miracle Exclusives ME81 304 stainless pot and steamer basket (retailer listings) Not published by the maker that we could reach Vented glass lid (retailer listings) China (retailer listing)
Zojirushi NS-TPC10/18 Black nonstick pot. The maker says food-contact surfaces are free of PFAS, including PTFE and PFOA, and BPA. Retailer copy names the coating as PEEK “PFAS-free,” stated by maker Detachable inner lid. Gasket material not published China
Hamilton Beach 37516MN, 37518MN, 37519MN, 37548MN Removable pot with “PFAS-free ceramic nonstick coating” “PFAS-free,” stated by maker, with a link to product formulation information Lid dishwasher safe; material not stated Not published on the page
Toiro / Nagatani-en Kamado-san Unglazed-look Iga clay donabe, per Toiro. Glaze details not given No PFAS statement (not a coated product). No lead-free certification stated on the page Double lid, clay Iga, Japan

Capacity, power, warranty

Rice-cooker “cups” are usually the 180 ml Japanese cup, not the 236 ml US cup. Multiply by 0.76 to get US cups of dry rice. Hamilton Beach uses its own 6 oz (177 g) cup instead, which it says is about 3/4 US cup.

Model Rice cups (180 ml) US cups, dry (approx.) Power Warranty
Cuckoo CRP-LHTAR0609F 6 4.6 120V; wattage not published on page 1 year; the sister page notes the inner pot and rubber packing are excluded
Cuckoo CRP-OHTR1009FWS 10 7.6 1295 W cook, 94 W warm 1 year
Instant Pot Duo 6QT Not published (6 qt / 5.7 L pot) Not published 1000 W 1 year
Miracle ME81 Retailers say 8 About 6 500 W (retailer listings) Not published
Zojirushi NS-TPC10 / 18 5.5 / 10 4.2 / 7.6 610 W / 820 W Zojirushi limited warranty (terms not read)
Hamilton Beach 37518MN / 37519MN 4 cups uncooked (maker’s 6 oz cup) About 3 Not published on page Not read
Kamado-san 1 / 2 / 3 / 5 0.8 / 1.5 / 2.3 / 3.8 No electricity: gas stove only Not stated

The Hamilton Beach 37548MN is listed for 2 to 14 cups cooked, with the pot’s fill line capped at 7 cups; the 37516MN holds up to 16 cups cooked.

Non toxic rice cooker picks, one by one

Cuckoo CRP-LHTAR0609F: an induction Teflon free rice cooker with a bare stainless pot

This is the cooker for readers who want zero coating on the rice and still want a modern micom cooker with pressure. Its menu includes a dedicated Scorched Rice setting, which the maker lists without describing how it behaves in a stainless pot. We cover its induction heating and pressure modes in our induction rice cooker roundup, so this page only looks at the pot.

  • Good: uncoated 3-ply stainless, 304 on the food side; 6 cup capacity; induction and pressure modes.
  • Watch out for: rubber seal composition isn’t published; stainless can stick more than nonstick, so expect to soak the pot; the warranty excludes the inner pot and rubber packing.
Check price on Amazon

Cuckoo CRP-OHTR1009FWS: the larger stainless option

Same pot idea in a 10 cup body: 3-ply stainless, induction heating, 1295 W while cooking. Its menu list includes brown rice, lentils, quinoa and steel-cut oats, but not a scorched-rice setting.

  • Good: larger capacity for families; stainless from the factory.
  • Watch out for: heavy at 19 lb; no PFAS statement on the product page (the pot has no coating, so that matters only for the seal and other parts).
Check price on Amazon

Instant Pot Duo 6QT: stainless rice cooker on a budget

Not a dedicated rice cooker, but a 6 qt stainless pressure cooker with a rice program. Instant Pot’s product page describes the pot as 18/8 stainless with a tri-ply bottom, and a separate page says its stainless pots have no non-stick or chemical coatings. Be careful with Instant Pot’s chemical disclosure page: it lists PTFE, PFA and FEP for the cookware range as a whole, because California and Colorado require it, and it doesn’t tie them to any single product. The brand’s 12-cup Grain and Rice Multi-Cooker has a non-stick pot and no PFAS statement, so don’t assume every Instant Pot rice product is stainless.

  • Good: uncoated pot, dishwasher safe; 1000 W; one-year warranty.
  • Watch out for: rice capacity in cups isn’t published; you’re buying a pressure cooker, and sealing-ring and steam-valve materials aren’t itemized.
Check price on Amazon

Miracle Exclusives ME81: all-stainless, but confirm it’s in stock

Retailer listings describe a 304 stainless pot, steamer basket and a vented glass lid, 500 W. We couldn’t reach a maker page, and several retailers showed it out of stock, so treat this as “check current availability.”

  • Good: no coating anywhere on the food path, per listings.
  • Watch out for: details come from retailers, not the maker; no published warranty.

Its Amazon listing showed as “currently unavailable”, so there is no buy link here.

Zojirushi NS-TPC: a PFAS-free nonstick rice cooker

This is Zojirushi’s answer to PTFE worries. The pot is still nonstick, so it’s not an “uncoated” cooker, but the maker says every food-contact surface is free of PFAS (including PTFE and PFOA) and BPA. Retailer copy attributes the coating to PEEK, a high-temperature polymer. It’s a micom cooker with menus for white/sushi, mixed, porridge, sweet, brown, cake and steam.

  • Good: explicit PFAS-free statement from the maker; 5.5 cup and 10 cup sizes.
  • Watch out for: it’s a coating and can wear; made in China; not induction.
Check price on Amazon

Hamilton Beach: an affordable non toxic rice cooker with ceramic nonstick

Four Hamilton Beach rice cookers (37516MN, 37518MN, 37519MN, 37548MN) are listed with a “PFAS-free ceramic nonstick coating” on a removable pot, and the pages link to formulation information. Read that as PFAS-free coated, not uncoated.

  • Good: maker states PFAS-free; wide capacity range.
  • Watch out for: ceramic coatings are still a coating; power ratings weren’t on the pages we read.

Check price and current models at Hamilton Beach. Amazon carries several similar Hamilton Beach cookers from earlier years, so confirm the model number ends in “MN” and that the listing states the PFAS-free ceramic coating before you buy.

Kamado-san clay donabe: no electricity, no metal

Toiro, the US retailer for Iga-based Nagatani-en, sells the Kamado-san double-lid clay rice cooker in 1, 2, 3 and 5 rice-cup sizes. It is made for gas stovetops and is not suitable for electric or induction cooktops or microwaves. It is hand wash only and needs seasoning. Toiro’s page doesn’t state a lead-free certification, so ask before buying if that’s your concern.

Check price at Toiro.

What we left out, and why

  • Tiger: the current US pages we read describe ceramic-coated aluminum pots (the JAX-T10U page also mentions a fluorine coating). We found no PFAS statement, so Tiger doesn’t belong on a coating-free list.
  • Aroma, Tatung, Lotus Foods and Pars Khazar: their pages blocked or failed to load, so we can’t verify current models or PFAS claims. If you’re considering one, check the maker’s own page.
  • Zojirushi’s other cookers: the maker page doesn’t state the pot material for them, and only the NS-TPC carries a PFAS-free statement.

For a wider stainless comparison see our stainless steel rice cooker guide, and for Korean brands our Korean rice cooker comparison.

Buying guide: Teflon free rice cooker, in four checks

1. Is there a coating at all?

Ask this first. Uncoated stainless, clay and cast iron have none. Ceramic “non-stick” is a sol-gel coating, and PEEK is a polymer coating. Both can be PFAS-free, but they are still layers on a metal pot.

2. What does “PFAS-free” actually cover?

A claim on a product page is the maker’s statement, not a lab result. Zojirushi and Hamilton Beach say food-contact surfaces are PFAS-free. Cuckoo publishes a PFAS-free label on its replacement stainless pot page. Instant Pot’s disclosure page shows why a blanket list can mislead: it names PTFE, PFA and FEP for its range without saying which product has them. When in doubt, ask the maker in writing which parts are PFAS-free.

3. What else touches the rice?

Steam vents, gaskets and inner lids are almost always silicone or rubber, and plastic. Makers rarely publish the compound. That is a real gap, and it applies to stainless cookers too.

4. Stainless sticks

Aluminum-core 3-ply stainless spreads heat well, but rice sticks more than on nonstick. Rinse rice, use the recommended water line, and soak the pot right after cooking. If you cook brown rice, see our brown rice cooker guide. For one-person portions, see small rice cookers.

FAQs

Are there Teflon free rice cookers?

Yes. Uncoated stainless options include the Cuckoo CRP-LHTAR0609F, CRP-OHTR1009FWS, Instant Pot’s stainless-pot multi-cookers and the Miracle ME81. Nonstick cookers that state they are PFAS-free include the Zojirushi NS-TPC and four Hamilton Beach models.

Is a ceramic rice cooker non toxic?

Ceramic nonstick is a coating, not solid ceramic. Makers such as Hamilton Beach state it is PFAS-free, but no maker we read publishes a long-term wear or leaching result.

Is there a non-Teflon Persian rice cooker that makes tahdig?

Persian-style electric cookers usually use a nonstick pot, which is how they release the crust cleanly. We couldn’t load any Persian maker’s page to check PFAS claims, so if you’re eyeing one, ask the seller or maker whether the coating is PTFE and get the answer in writing. Among cookers with a stated PFAS position, the Zojirushi NS-TPC and Hamilton Beach models are coated but PFAS-free by the maker’s word. None of them advertises a tahdig setting.

Can a stainless steel rice cooker make a crust?

It can, because rice touching hot metal with some fat will brown. The problem is release. The Cuckoo CRP-LHTAR0609F lists a Scorched Rice menu, but the maker doesn’t explain what it does in a stainless pot. The 10-cup model has no such menu.

How do I make tahdig without a Teflon pot?

The traditional way is stovetop. This is a standard technique, not something we tested. Parboil basmati, drain it, heat oil or butter in the bottom of a heavy stainless pot or enameled Dutch oven, and mound the rice on top. Wrap the lid in a towel, cook over medium heat for a few minutes until it sizzles, then lower the heat for about 40 to 50 minutes. Set the pot base in a sink with an inch of cold water for a minute to help the crust loosen. Stainless needs more fat than nonstick; enameled cast iron browns well. See our stainless cookware guide and cast iron care guide.

Is stainless steel safe for rice?

Stainless is inert for rice, but 304 (18/8) contains nickel, and some people with a nickel allergy avoid it. Makers like Instant Pot and Cuckoo describe their food-contact steel as 304.

Does the Instant Pot contain PFAS?

Instant Pot says its stainless inner pots have no coatings. Its disclosure page lists PTFE, PFA and FEP for the cookware range without naming products, and its 12-cup Grain and Rice Multi-Cooker has a non-stick pot.

Can I use a clay pot on an induction cooktop?

Not the Kamado-san: Toiro says it is not suitable for electric or induction cooktops. For induction, the Cuckoo IH models are the practical route.

Bottom line

For no coating at all, pick a Cuckoo stainless model or an Instant Pot with a stainless pot. For a nonstick surface with a stated PFAS-free position, look at the Zojirushi NS-TPC or Hamilton Beach. For tahdig, the stovetop still gives the most reliable crust.

Sources

Reader questions (2)

  1. I’m looking for a Persian rice cooker that will make tadigh, the crusty brown rice at bottom of the pot. One without teflon. Any?

Ask a question

Your email won’t be published.